UNICEF and partners build capacity of SBMCs on school safety and security


By Aisha Ahmed

The United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), with the support of development partners, said it will work with the government to build the capacity of School Management Committees (SBMCs) on safety and security in the schools.

The head of the Agency’s Kano field office, Mr. Rahama Farah, made the point on Wednesday in Kano during a media dialogue on girls’ education.

Farah said the capacity building would also include Community Management Committees (CBMCs) in schools to make communities more resilient.

“In Kano State, through the Girls’ Education Project 3 (GEP3), funded by the UK’s Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO), 300 SBMC members have been trained.

“GEP 3-supported schools have also developed school emergency preparedness and response plans to mitigate the impact of potential and actual threats to schools,” he said.

He added that multi-sectoral school safety task teams had also been established in the 34 local government areas of Katsina State to provide rapid networking among school safety actors.

These interventions, according to Farah, are aimed at encouraging girls to go to school.

He pointed out that despite these efforts, much more needs to be done to ensure that every girl in Nigeria is in school, attends school and completes her education.

In order to achieve this goal, Farah suggested that there was a need for collective support from stakeholders, especially the media.

He further expressed UNICEF’s gratitude to the UK’s Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO), for funding GEP 3 which started in 2012.

The support, he said, has expanded access to education for girls, resulting in as many as 1.3 million girls gaining access to education across the six states of the targeted north of Kano, Katsina, Zamfara, Sokoto, Bauchi and Niger.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that UNICEF is setting up a media dialogue on girls’ education, funded by the UK’s Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO).

Around 45 journalists are attending the dialogue and come from the northern states of Kano, Kaduna, Katsina, Sokoto, Zamfara and FCT Abuja. (NOPE)

Edited by Funmilayo Adeyemi/Isaac Aregbesola


Comments are closed.